Poppies

I went up to London last night and had a look at the new exhibition at the Royal Academy, ‘Painting the modern garden, Monet to Matisse ‘, there was one painting I had seen in the paper that I really wanted to see for myself by John Singer Sargent called Poppies, it was as if he had come up to the fruit cage two years ago and painted all those poppies I had in there. But this was painted in 1886 so I could not take credit for it. It is a great painting and I was very happy to see it for myself.

L1070599

6 thoughts on “Poppies

  1. I remember reading Christopher Lloyd’s chapter on poppies (p. 69) in: _My Favorite Plant: Writers and Gardeners on the Plants They Love_ Excellent! Look it up – you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

