Alpine strawberries

While cleaning around the vegetable garden I have been able to have a good look at my sweet little Alpine strawberries, I did not plant them they just turned up and have really taken over an area that nothing else really does well in, it is along the edge of a replacement yew hedge. I know that these strawberries like a rice soil but they are doing so well that I just want to let them get on with it. For me it is a joy to go up and have a look after lunch for some fruit from them to eat, of course there is not enough to share but I do not mind having them to myself through the summer, they do seem to fruit a long time. They do make a perfect ground cover, and the taste of the fruit is better than those big things others like to show off with.

L1060325

Leave a Reply

