Artichoke

The new bed of Artichokes are in, I lifted the old plants and took slips, most of them had young roots developing so it should all go to plan, I cut the foliage right back and gave them lots of water and am pleased to say we had rain in the night, it will be a great help to them. I am very lucky here because I have Perry Rodriguez, he use to grow the vegetables for Christopher and so I can ask him anything about whatever job I am on, he said something very useful about splitting Artichokes, always plant a few extra somewhere else just in case you have losses. This is very good advice for someone like me who likes to see long, clean lines without gaps. These new plants should start to fruit in late July for us, if you are at Great Dixter around that time we will be selling them from the front door and plants in the nursery. 

Image

 

One thought on “Artichoke

Leave a Reply

